2014 primary election results

CREATED Aug 12, 2014

  • Print
  • Mary Burke won the Democratic primary for governor, beating Rep. Brett Husley. She will face Gov. Scott Walker in the election in November.

  • Mary Burke will now face Gov. Scott Walker in a general election in November.

  • Gwen Moore won the Democratic 6th Congressional seat, beating out Gary George for the position. In this photo: Rep. Gwen Moore (D-WI) addresses members of the The National Organization for Women (NOW), the National Task Force to End Sexual Assault and Domestic Violence Against Women and other groups during a rally in support of the Violence Against Women Act (VAWA) on Capitol Hill June 26, 2012 in Washington, DC. Image by Getty Images

  • Moore will take on Republican Dan Sebring in November. In this photo: U.S. Rep. Gwen Moore (D-WI) speaks on stage with other female members of Congress during day one of the Democratic National Convention at Time Warner Cable Arena on September 4, 2012 in Charlotte, North Carolina. Image by Getty Images

  • Glenn Grothman won the GOP 6th Congressional District primary. In this photo: Republican Presidential candidate, former Pennsylvania Sen. Rick Santorum prepares to have lunch with (R - L) his wife Karen, daughter Sarah, son John and Wisconsin State Sen. Glenn Grothman at the Riverside Brewery and Restaurant on April 1, 2012 in West Bend, Wisconsin. Image by Getty Images

  • Grothman will face Democratic candidate Mark L. Harris in November. In this photo: Republican Wisconsin State Senator Glenn Grothman (C) talks with Mark Dziedzic (L) and Jeff Dziedzic inside the Wisconsin State Capitol on March 4, 2011 in Madison,Wisconsin. Image by Getty Images

For a list of complete election results, click here

UPDATE: Sheriff David Clarke escapes with a victory over challenger Chris Moews.

10:56 p.m. - State Sen. Glenn Grothman has defeated three other Republicans in a hard-fought primary race to succeed retiring U.S. Rep. Tom Petri.

10:01 p.m. - U.S. Rep. Gwen Moore has defeated convicted felon and former state Sen. Gary George in a Milwaukee-area Democratic primary.

8:39 p.m. - Mary Burke has won the Democratic nomination for governor. She'll face off against Gov. Scott Walker in the general election this november.


Voting has now concluded for the 2014 primary election. 

Executive Director for the Milwaukee Election Commission Neil Albrecht said things went smoothly, with the exception of a few complaints about the partisan primary ballot. 

"What we're hearing more than anything is just some voter confusion and even frustration about the partisan primary ballot and how difficult that can be to understand and navigate," Albrecht said. 

For more on voter turnout, click here

We'll update this story with results as they are finalized.