Two Milwaukee-area residents have been nominated for Packers FAN Hall of Fame

CREATED Jan 28, 2013

  • Print

GREEN BAY - The Green Bay Packers have named ten finalists in the search for the 15th member of the Packers FAN Hall of Fame. Voting will begin Monday, Jan. 28.

"The first professional football team to have a hall of fame, the Green Bay Packers enhanced that distinction in 1998 by establishing a Packers FAN Hall of Fame," said Jessica Bedore with the team. "It was founded for the purpose of annually honoring a devout and longtime Packers fan."

Packers fans were asked to nominate themselves or a friend for the honor with an essay of 500 words or less, accompanied by a photo, explaining why he or she should be recognized.

From those nominations, 10 finalists were selected by the selection committee.

This year’s 10 finalists are:

• Barbara Lee Mollberg, Greenfield, Wis.
• Kevin Taylor, Decatur, Ala.
• J. Christopher Windisch, Williston Park, N.Y.
• Eric Breuer, Yorktown, Va.
• Edward Fritsch, Sheboygan, Wis.
• Melissa Jacobs, Wauwatosa, Wis.
• Ronald Mihm, Lisbon, Wis.
• George Oudhuis, Carlisle, Ind.
• Stephen Gay, Luxemburg, Wis.
• Dave Rickert, Freedom, Wis.

This year, the nominating and voting process will take place entirely online. Fans can now read the finalists’ profiles and vote online here.

The nominee receiving the most votes will be named the 15th member of the Packers FAN Hall of Fame. The voting deadline is midnight, Feb. 22, 2013.

The winner will be announced March 26, 2013, at a press conference at Lambeau Field.

According to Bedore, the winner receives four club seats to a 2013 Packers home game; a $500 Packers Pro Shop gift certificate; a road trip for two to a 2013 Packers away game, including game tickets, air fare and hotel accommodations; and a one-year subscription to Packers Plus.

The honoree also will have his or her name permanently displayed in a place of honor in the Packers Hall of Fame.