skip to nav skip to content

FPO

John Mercure: Mercurey Rising

"It Was the Correct Call" Not!

  • Print

Are you kidding me?! Seriously?!

Lance Easley, the replacement side judge who ruled Seahawks receiver Golden Tate caught that touchdown pass on the last play of the game Monday night is standing by his call.

Easley maintains that there was simultaneous possession on the final play of the game. And he recently told the website TMZ, "It was the correct call. I didn't do anything wrong."  Huh?!

It gets worse.  Easley made the mistake of trying to defend his ruling.  "You have to not only have the ball but have either two feet or a body part on the ground, and that never happened," Easley said.

The problem is that the NFL rules state otherwise. According to the rules, "It is not a simultaneous catch if a player gains control first and an opponent simultaneously gains control."  That means Packers defensive back M.D. Jennings only needed to have control of the ball and then possession.  That happened.

Lance Easley would have been better off abiding by the old saying, "Sometimes it's better to keep your mouth shut and let believe you're an idiot, than to open your mouth and remove all doubt."

 

This site uses Facebook comments to make it easier for you to contribute. If you see a comment you would like to flag for spam or abuse, click the "x" in the upper right of it. By posting, you agree to our Terms of Use.

Milwaukee, WI

Overcast
48°
Overcast
Precip
0%
Humidity
71%
Wind
N at 10 mph
Alerts
0

620 WTMJ